TOPS-20 User Wiki

Tutorials contributed by the users of TWENEX.ORG

User Tools

Site Tools


tutorials:commode

COMMODE is essentially a REMARK script which prefixes the USER's name to whatever the user types. It is used for chatting with other users, but requires that each TERMINAL be LINKED together. A regular chat is held each Saturday at 5:30PM until 7:00PM Pacific Time. (See the World Clock section for the meeting time in your time zone.) To join, run SYSTAT to see who is running COMMOD and use SEND to request a link.

Setting up COMMODE

  • Log to your account (if new, please login as NEW NEW)
  • Each user must set TERMINAL RECEIVE LINKS at EXEC (the @ prompt)
  • Users must have their terminals linked - This can be done by one user via TALK or via ^L in COMMODE

Commands within COMMODE

  • ^B - Blanks all linked TTYs if they are VTs and not Teletypes
  • ^L - Add another USER's terminal to COMMODE
  • ^N - Change your name
  • ^X - Push to EXEC - others can observe
  • ^Z - Break all links and exit COM MODE
  • <ESC> - Short cut for Go Ahead

COMMODE etiquette

In COMMODE it is easy to have a conversation run over itself - id est people talking over each other. When this happens, you can yield to another user by pressing <ESC>. This will print a GA or Go Ahead. It is also best to end your side of the conversation with a GA or a double <RET>. This will signal to others that you are done speaking.

Disconnecting

  • ^Z will break all links and exit COMMODE
  • Typing BREAK in EXEC will break links

World Clock

Weekly COMMODE chat local time by time zone.

(Add a line for your zone if it's not already in the table.)

Time zoneLocal COMMODE timeLocation(s)
UTC-8 (PST)Saturday 17:30-19:00Seattle
UTC-7 (MST)Saturday 18:30-20:00Denver
UTC-6 (CST)Saturday 19:30-21:00Chicago
UTC-5 (EST)Saturday 20:30-22:00Boston
UTC (GMT)Sunday 01:30-03:00London
UTC+1 (CET)Sunday 02:30-04:00Berlin, Paris, Warsaw
UTC+2Sunday 03:30-05:00Jerusalem
UTC+5:30Sunday 07:00-09:30Mumbai
UTC+7Sunday 08:30-10:00Bangkok
UTC+8Sunday 09:30-11:00Shanghai, Singapore
UTC+9Sunday 10:30-12:00Osaka, Tokyo
UTC+11Sunday 12:30-14:00Sydney
UTC+13Sunday 14:30-16:00Wellington
tutorials/commode.txt · Last modified: 2014/01/11 03:20 by papa